cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PowerShot SX60 - Usage

AdeSho
Contributor
Firstly my apologies if my question sounds vague...I am trying to take product photos using a photo box/light tent but I cant get this camera to take sharp pictures with a shallow depth of field. I'm a novice but I've read and watched many tutorials and tried various settings combinations but nothing. Can some please give me a tip as to how to achieve a sharp image with realistic colour of the subject. The Manual Focus is hard to see the differences except at extreme levels. I dont get what effect the x2 and x4 have on the photo as they come out same size. I wish I could tether to my laptop so I can get a live view. Please help guys
8 REPLIES 8

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

Can you share an example? You could be too close for the lens to focus.

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

Absolutely samples would be helpful.

First off however,  a couple of things come to mind.

Use autofocus rathar than manual focus.  If you can't get focus then you are likely too close. Shoot in the macro mode if the objects are closer that 1.5m (about 4ft). 

You want an f-value of about 8 to get a reasonable depth of field.

As far as colour goes that depends on what kind of lighting source you are using.  The SX60HS has the ability to adjust for different lighting sources - "warm" lights like incandescent, medium like some kinds of flurorescent, or LEDs.  Your lights should have a Kelvin rating, and that is a guide to use and refer to the manual to match to the right light setting.

@AdeSho wrote: