cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Did I make a BIG mistake....

DiamondDoll
Contributor

I bought a Powershot SX420 IS and so far, I’m not too happy...  I’ve been reading the manual and when I got to the Software Installation page I now find out that the software is not compatible for MAC OS Monterey 12.3.1.  This bothers me, tremendously!   I work as a Software Product Marketing Manager  and I can’t believe a product that is part of a technology-based company DOES NOT bother to update their own products so they are compatible with APPLE.  In fact, according to Canon’s website, the software for  OS compatibility hasn’t been updated since 2019!!  Before I return this (and hopefully I’ll be able to), does anyone have any suggestions or information on this issue?  

Thanks so much!  

3 REPLIES 3

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

To be honest, from this and other posts on this camera, you seem to have bought an old model camera that is six years old (a long time in this business).  If I allude back to your other issues with the banding it is likely old stock the store was off-loading, and for which it appears they charged a premium price.  I was also concerned that you ended up with a counterfeit card - did you get this from the same retailer?   Frankly, I would return the camera immediately for a refund if you can do so, and do some more research on cameras to find out what is on the market now - cameras have come a long way in six years...  For example, the camera manual will not refer to the software version you mentioned because the manual was written in 2015, and your software was released this year!
If you can get a refund, why not come back to us and tell us what you need from a camera, giving us budget, the kinds of subjects you want (including video or stills), what you want to produce (big prints, small prints, for digital display or social media).  We can help you look for something that is going to work for you.