Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-19-2015

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

Thanks for the tip about booting into safe mode - that was exactly what I needed.  I also re-installed both the Toolbox and printer drivers in Safe Mode as well.  Everything is working great now!

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-20-2015

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

I have the same exact issue. I can follow the instructions in this post to reinstall and turn off/on, etc. It will work a few times, but then the next day same problem. It's intermittent.  It worked perfectly under windows 7. Now when I upgraded to windows 10, it is not working consistently. Please fix this. I don't want to switch to another brand of printer.

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-26-2015

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

[ Edited ]

Same thing worked for me.  Uninstall the toolbox and go to Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Devices and Printers and remove all Canon devices.

 

Then install the drivers again and the toolbox again.

 

W10 upgrade or hooking up the device to a new W10 installation uses default windows drivers.  Reinstalling using Canon s/w did the trick.

 

I did have the "Windows Image Acquisition (WIA)" service set to this threads recommendations as well.

 

I didn't have to boot into Safe mode either.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-30-2015

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

 


@Piers_A wrote:

This simple fix I found online worked for me:

 


Start> in the run box type. Services.msc

Scroll down to Windows Image Acquisition (WIA)

Right click, select Properties

Check that Startup type is set to Automatic

Click Log On Tab

Check that Local System account , and Allow service to interact with desktop is checked. Hit apply.

Click Recovery...Click on window next to First Failure, Scroll to Restart the Service. Hit apply.


 

This worked for me with my ImageClass MF4150. I can now scan to a PDF.

Thanks very much!!!!!!!

 

Has anyone installed an OCR program after using this fix?

 

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-30-2015

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

Piers_A ... THANK YOU to you and all who discovered this before you (and no thanks to Canon)!!!

I spent hours trying to make my MF6590 scan like it was designed to again, trying almost everything meticulously down to the last detail... then spent about 1 minute on this fix and everything works perfectly.  My printer only scans by usb connection and I can even plug and play my usb cable, even though Canon says that I can't.  THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!!!  I just hope more people see this fix first instead of spending hours on it like many of us.  Smiley Happy

 

 

 

QUITE POSSIBLY THE ONLY MF TOOLBOX SCANNER FIX YOU NEED:

 


@Piers_A wrote:

This simple fix I found online worked for me:

 


Start> in the run box type. Services.msc

Scroll down to Windows Image Acquisition (WIA)

Right click, select Properties

Check that Startup type is set to Automatic

Click Log On Tab

Check that Local System account , and Allow service to interact with desktop is checked. Hit apply.

Click Recovery...Click on window next to First Failure, Scroll to Restart the Service. Hit apply.



...and thank you again!  I'm just so excited to be able to use my scanner again, especially since this all-in-one has treated me so well over the years... but seriously Canon, if you want me to keep buying your awesome products you really need to do better on the support side of things.  There are much less expensive options out there, we are paying top dollar for a top quality product and expect top quality support when we need it.

 

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-01-2016

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

[ Edited ]

Thanks a million Piers_A, now I can scan again! Also, I'll add that if you use a Local Windows account, you'll need to change the Properties in the Administrator account.

jdm
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-03-2016

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

Nothing worked for me, so I finally downloaded NAPS2 (http://sourceforge.net/projects/naps2/) which is free and can scan into pdf.

The UI is nice and simple. I hope this message will help those looking for a free alternative to MF Toolbox on windows 10.

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-03-2016

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

Had to reinstall windows 10, and all the extra programs...had problems with the MF8280Cw scanning to computer. loaded the new driver and I eventually installed the old MF Toolbox and with a few tricks got it to scan. after a restart the system crashed again.

 

By going into safe mode and unistalling this printer, will this do the trick. It took over 4 hours to get Windows 10 back in order, there was no way of going back to windows 7....what a mess.

Would appreciate help. I love this printer, but maybe should re-invest in a new one?

 

Thanks

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-03-2016

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

I had the same problem with the uninstall but I just rebooted and it worked fine the second time.
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-23-2015

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

Sollution of Piers_A worked for me, exept...

MF Toolbox give's an error report after copying second time at the ADF. Platen glass no problem.

 

I have to switch from ADF to Platen glass, start scan platen glass, cancel scan and return to scan on ADF.

Can you help me?

 

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement