cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon MF264dw suddenly gives error message 0x00000709 and won't print

Notes_Norton
Contributor

Hi,

I'm new here, but not new to computers. I started with an Atari, then Windows 3.1 way back when. I've had a couple of Macs too, but don't have one now. It's important to note, I'm a user, not a tech. I get along with them, but everything is self-taught, and not at the tech level.

I'm using Win 11 with a Canon MF264dw. It's been on this computer over a year, and never has given me a problem—until this morning.

I went to print something, and the printer did not appear in the dialog box in Adobe Acrobat. I tried a couple of other apps, with the same result.

Previously to this morning, I printed something almost every day with no glitch.

It's hooked up and scans just fine, but will not print. That tells me that it isn't a connection problem. I have hooked up directly to the computer via a USB cable. I tried cleaning the USB connections with DeOxit and choosing a different USB port in the computer.

Finding an app that still has the Canon in the dialog box, trying to print gives me this error 0x00000709 or this one 0x80070709

I tried the Windows Troubleshooter, but the troubleshooter cannot find the problem.

I looked up some soloutiongs involving editing the registry, but none of the illustrations looked exactly like my situation, so I was timid to try to just try anything, knowing a registry problem can be a huge problem.

So is there any way to fix this?

If so, what can I do?

Thanks in advance,

Bob

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings,

This explains things.  So you never ran the installer, which is why the issues were not corrected.  

Did sfc find and OS corruption?