cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wide angle lens rental recommendation for t5

BoricuaBruni
Contributor

Hi, 

I'm a newbie with t5 kit  and 50 mm lens.  Leaving in 7 days for a 2-week va-k in Barcelona and Paris.  I live in NYC and am hoping that I can rent a wide angle lens before my trip.  Any suggestions as to which rental company and lens I should go with?  Also, would u recommend I bring only the wide angle and 50 mm?  Traveling alone and hoping to lighten my load.  Any tips and suggestions are appreciated.  Thanks for your help.

7 REPLIES 7

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

The two major internet rental companies are LensRentals and BorrowLenses.  But since you're in NYC,there's also Adorama Rentals and I *think* B&H Photo may also have a rental department.

The "kit" lens that would have come with your T5 is the EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6.  But there's also an EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 lens (never included in any kit) that collects quite a bit more light -- even though it's not really much wider than the kit lens.

These lenses offer a moderately wide through moderately tight view.

For wider angles, there are two lens options I would consider in Canon glass...

One is the EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 

Somewhat recently (well... within the last year)... Canon introduced the EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM.  A bit better if you're doing video, but it's a "slower" lens in that it is higher focal ratio (meaing smaller aperture opening) than the 10-22mm lens.  But it does have image stabilization (which is nice for video.)  The 10-18 is more affordable.

And of course... since you're renting.... if you want a much higher quality option, there's always the EF 11-24mm f/4L USM (that's a $3k lens if you were to buy it.)

Tim Campbell
5D III, 5D IV, 60Da

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

"But there's also an EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 lens ..."

This is the lens you want.  Consider buying it, however, you will not want to give it back. Smiley Happy