cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lost my standard 18-55mm lens, suggestions for best replacement that is versatile

xochristy
Contributor

I lost my Canon EOS Rebel T3i standard 18-55mm lens this weekend. The only other lens I own is a 70-200mm telephoto. I love to take nature photos so alot of insects, flowers, landscapes, birds and animals. I'm considering buying a more versatile lens and I dont want to spend more than $600 and if I can spend less and get something really worthwhile that is great. I was considering the EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS but am not sure because I'm an amateur and I dont fully understand the lens options. A friend of mine is a photographer, so I asked him his opinion. He actually recommended I buy the Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM Ultra-Wide Zoom Lens. He shoots with a 50D but said that he personally a big fan of shooting with the ultra wide lens. I had trouble grasping what I would gain/give up by going this route. Anyone have any advice in fairly simple terms? My concern is that if I go from 18-55 to 11-22 what does I loose by no longer having 23-55 that I had on my original lens? I know that give then cost of the lens he is suggesting it's better, I just want to make a more informed decision. Thank you for your help! 

13 REPLIES 13

IMHO, I would not even consider this as a decision maker or breaker.

"... stating that it's large enough to cast a shadow when using the built-in flash..."

How many times do you use the built-in flash?

Besides the advantages of a dedicated speedlight far out weigh just as a bounce flash.  The main reason is power.  It is so much better than the built-in that is really isn't comparable.  Except they both flash!  I had two 7D's and I never once used the built-in flash.

Plus you don't need it today.  You can get it later.  That will give you time to see if you even need it.  There is ony 5mm difference in the diameter between the two anyway.  5mm !

EB