cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tripod ?

Mitsubishiman
Rising Star

Hello everyone, I am in the market for a good tripod, I have a few that as you know have pros and cons, I used to prefer lightweight for a long carry in, however that sacrifices stability, I am a land surveyor and have access to serious tripods that can be utilized with a head adapter, definately stable however also heavy.

Looking around the $200 figure and would consider streching it if needed.

Mainly for landscape work, ocasionally will have to carry up to a mile, I saw this one and would prefer to get the advice of someone that has it, or an alternative that has been good to you.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1034139-REG/manfrotto_mt055xpro3_aluminum_tripod.html

For the record I dislike long pan handles, and prefer a 3-Way vs. Ball

I realize that both light and stable do not coexist, however i am sure some of you have found a acceptable middle version.

8 REPLIES 8

ScottyP
Authority

If you get Manfrotto, be sure to get a head that is Arca Swiss compatible.  They make them now. Before all their stuff needed Manfroto plates, etc.  No sense locking yourself into a system when you don't have to.

Arca Swiss is a brand, but most other manufacturers of plates, L brackets, heads, etc. make their stuff "Arca Swiss compatible" because it is the standard. 

Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites

Why do so many people say "FER-tographer"? Do they take "fertographs"?

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

Light, stable, inexpensive. Choose any two. Smiley Happy

You our can get a Gitzo that weighs less than half of the link you selected, and is very stable, but it's $600. 

A lot depends on the camera& lens you are trying to support.