cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SD and CF Cards together in 5D Mark III

Rkc51246
Contributor

Have 32 GB SD card (45 MB -speed)

Depending on answer, may want to get a CF Card 32 GB (with faster speed)

Read that if both used at same time (not one or the other) then the speed becomes that of the lowest card.  True?

I realize there are many different reasons to have two cards as well as speed of cards.  I am not a profesional, but at least would be considered intermediate. Used to shoot print film years ago (60-70s) eyesight became poor, got cataract surgery now eyes good again, and the AF on the 5D MIII propeled me to re-enter photography. My lens is good too, 24-70 F2.8

Any help or direction to a valid and new explanation of my question will be appreciated.

5 REPLIES 5

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

You could use two cards to give you an in-camera backup by recoding the same images to both cards.  In that case the slowesr card will control how fast the buffer can be emptied.

Some people record RAW to the CF card and JPEG to the SD card. In that case the CF card will most likely control the buffer speed even though the CF card is faster. This is because the RAW files are larger.

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

was thinking same way if buffer speed as you suggest. also, thinking of video to CF

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

You may want to read this article by Canon:  http://www.learn.usa.canon.com/resources/articles/2012/eos_understanding_burst_rates.htmlp