cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Non-DSLRs with Remote Live View capability

jwday
Contributor

Hi Community, 

I'm doing some research and trying to figure out what cameras are capable of Remote Live View. I currently have a Rebel T2i and Remote Live View works with it, but my budget is limited and I don't need a DSLR, so i'd like to find an alternative. Do PowerShots (for example) have that capability?

Furthermore, I'd like to use a tablet to control my future non-DSLR camera and use Remote live view. Are there any options for this as well? Ideally I'd like to use an Android tablet since they are inexpensive, but I am open to other options. Any information will be helpful because I am very new to the world of cameras!

Thank you

7 REPLIES 7

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

Some, or most of the Canon P&S's that can equal the Rebel in quality, cost nearly as much.  Smiley Surprised

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

But I don't need something that can equal the Rebel in quality. Far from it. My application is going to be strictly for motionless, high-contrast grayscale photography. I'm really just looking for a camera with a decent amount of megapixels, so long as it can be tethered to an Android tablet for remote control and remote viewfinder purposes.

@jwday wrote:

But I don't need something that can equal the Rebel in quality. Far from it. My application is going to be strictly for motionless, high-contrast grayscale photography. I'm really just looking for a camera with a decent amount of megapixels, so long as it can be tethered to an Android tablet for remote control and remote viewfinder purposes.

Your stated requirements don't match anything I've ever experienced, and I'll bet the same could be said by most of the other participants. So unless you're willing to tell us more about the specific application you have in mind, it may be difficult for us to help you much.

Bob