cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon 6D OR Rebel T4i?

bjchitown
Contributor

I hve been taking pictures for about 30 years as a photo enthusiast. I currently own an EOS rebel 450 D, along with a 10-22 EF-S F 3.5/4.5 USM and a 70-200 EF Zoom. I  am going to Hawaii next month and have to make a decision as to what camera I will purchase. as an upgrade. I looked at the rebel 4Ti but I am also thinking about the canon 6D. I have never used a full frame before but I want to get more serious and think this could be an interesting option. I was going to get the lens kit of 24-105 EF.  I would appreciate suggestion from the other photographers out there. Thanks. Barb

30 REPLIES 30

cicopo
Elite

I've been to Kauai and toured the island both by car & took the heli tour back when the 20D was the new body to have. The majority of my shots were at the wide end using the then new Sigma 18-200 which met ALL of my needs lens wise. Depending on what you'll do on your trip you may only need to add a lens like the 24-105 to cover all of the situations you'll want to capture UNLESS Whale watching is one of them which might demand an even longer lens than you currently own.

Unless you are planning some low light  photography that needs better AF performance or higher ISO I really can't see the need for a newer (& more expensive) body if you know the one you have well. I also don't understand the need to upgrade to FF from a crop body unless you are looking seriously at the shallow DOF side of photography.

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

Regardless of which body you choose and take you will definitely want wide for those landscape shots no matter which island your on. Your 10-22 will be fine for your crop body but even if you buy the 6D with 24-105, I'd rent a 16-35 or 17-40.

Enjoy!

Since I did not really answer your question...