Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-24-2019

Canon M100 remote shutter control

Hello,
So my new EOS M100 just arrived and am a little diaspointed inasmuch as there is no way i can control the shutter from my PC and the Canon Android app only seems to allow me to do Attended single shots.

What i want is an unattended shooting solution/app that i can programme up to capture Astro or Wildlife photos, go to bed and let it do the work.

Basically say something like this:
Exposures=100, Interval=Every 10 Seconds, Duration=1 Second, @ f=X Iso=Y etc etc

This is a great LITTLE light weight camera that you could attach to a telescope without upsetting it or stick under a bush in a box with a remote power supply.

 

I don't want a big camera with box of gadgets this little guy is perfect :-) just missing a simple bit of funtion :-(


Any suggestion please?

 

Many thanks imk

 

VIP
Posts: 8,202
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Canon M100 remote shutter control


@imk1230 wrote:

Hello,
So my new EOS M100 just arrived and am a little diaspointed inasmuch as there is no way i can control the shutter from my PC and the Canon Android app only seems to allow me to do Attended single shots.

What i want is an unattended shooting solution/app that i can programme up to capture Astro or Wildlife photos, go to bed and let it do the work.

Basically say something like this:
Exposures=100, Interval=Every 10 Seconds, Duration=1 Second, @ f=X Iso=Y etc etc

This is a great LITTLE light weight camera that you could attach to a telescope without upsetting it or stick under a bush in a box with a remote power supply.

 

I don't want a big camera with box of gadgets this little guy is perfect :-) just missing a simple bit of funtion :-(


Any suggestion please?

 

Many thanks imk

 


I strongly suggest that you return the M100 in exchange for a Rebel DSLR like the T6.  The M100 lacks the features that you apparently have been seeking, like tethered shooting and a wired remote control input.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,346
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Canon M100 remote shutter control

Or even an SL2 if size and wieght are a concern.

VIP
Posts: 8,202
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Canon M100 remote shutter control

I am not sure if the SL2 has an input for a wired remote.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,346
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Canon M100 remote shutter control

It does:

 

SL2-ext.jpg

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎11-14-2018

Re: Canon M100 remote shutter control

[ Edited ]

@kvbarkley wrote:

It does:

 

SL2-ext.jpg



With the information that kvbarkley supplied and this remote (PIXEL FSK 2.4GHz Wireless Shutter Remote Release Control for Canon) you can do what you are interested in doing.  It is available through Amazon.  Not sure it works with M100, I would call.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement