cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

setting suggestions for puppy pictures

pawspics
Apprentice

I am a beginner and a volunteer who helps take pictures of puppies at an organization. What specific settings would you recommend for taking pictures of 4 week old puppies? They will probably be held, but still moving some. Can get them pretty still with a squeaker toy. Natural lighting will be used. Puppy portraits are taken at milestones and kept for future families. ~Thank you

6 REPLIES 6

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

I would put on P and concentrate on the puppies.

Would it be possible to see some puppy photos? One of our favorite TV shows is on Animal Planet, Too Cute.

John
Canon EOS T7; EF-S 18-55mm IS; EF 28-135mm IS; EF 75-300mm; Sigma 150-600mm DG

wq9nsc
Elite
Elite

As kvbarkley stated, P mode (basically fully automatic selection of exposure parameters) will probably work well for this since the puppies will be relatively still.

If you let us know the exact camera model and lens you are using, it would be easier to suggest possible settings.

In natural light, you want the lens aperture open as far as possible while still having enough depth of field (everything important from the front to back of scene is in focus).  Depending upon the lens, if the puppies are pretty still and you hold the camera very steady then maybe 1/100 shutter speed will work.  I would be more comfortable with higher shutter speed since pets rarely hold as still as we would like and if your camera produces OK results at increased ISO then you could bump the shutter speed up.