cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What lense

Samuel_
Contributor

I have a canon 60d and I need to get a wide lense that's good for filming and photography and help ?

Also with a good zoom .

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

"I need something that shows a wide angle etc like I said !"

Sam the Man, Smiley Happy

Good and cheap are rarely used in the same sentence.  Pick one!  My choice for you would be the Canon EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM Lens.  You said you are on a 60D?  That will be a great lens for you but it is pricey so you might want to check used sources or the refurb store.

Most of the time your 50mm prime is a poor choice as it is a specialized lens compared to a zoom.  There are few reasons to choose a prime lens anymore.

I don't do video. I am a stills photographer but the Canon EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM Lens should fill the video need quite well.

It will do landscapes and general photography with the best of them.  Win, win!

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

View solution in original post

27 REPLIES 27

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

@Samuel_ wrote:

I have a canon 60d and I need to get a wide lense that's good for filming and photography and help ?

Also with a good zoom .

How many lenses are you looking for: a prime; a zoom; or both?  What is your approximate budget a lens, or each lens?

Professional cinematographers mostly use fully manual lenses, so that they can have direct and immediate control over aperture.  I own 3 of the Rokinon Cinema lenses, which are almost equivalent to their photographic equivalents.  The lenses are fully manual, and take great photos.  I have the 14mm for full frame sensors, the 16mm for APS-C sensors, and the 85mm for full frame sensors.  There are additional primes at 24, 35, and 50mm.

IMG_2016_02_240215.jpg