cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgrading to FF, need to upgrade the glass too... 5D mkiii and 1 lens, or 6D and 2 lenses?

Blair25
Apprentice

I've been shooting for several years now, and my trusty 40D has been in dire need of an upgrade. I have had some good paying jobs in the last few months and I have some cash to play with. I've just been beating my head against the wall trying to figure out the best course of action.

I recognize that style determines one's needs, but my needs change. Sometimes it's portrait, studio/location... sometimes it's event, action... sometimes low light and long exposure. Increasingly, paid video is becoming part of my workflow.

I waited to see what the 70D would offer, I was impressed with the new AF system, fps, ISO performance, as well as the usefulness of the flip screen/wifi (more than I thought I would have been). The problem is that it's still a crop sensor, and still on the lower end of the "prosumer" line. I try not to let my ego get in the way too much, as I know that an expensive camera doesn't always make for a good photographer. However, after shooting the xxD line for many years (since the 10D), I would like to move up, and I don't know that I have the patience to wait for the 7D mkii.