cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgrading from a t6 Pt 2

rpfannkuch
Contributor

I had another thread asking what should I upgrade from my T6 with, a 77D or T7I, they are options, I have around 760 as a tax return and I'm young, I'm still in high school, my mom wants to do some stuff with my car oil changes, etc which i'm a huge car guy, I'm also an automotive photographer, I've been looking at the 5DMKII, it isn't obviously hugely feature heavy, but I would think its a huge difference over my t6. My t6 has been holding me back for about a year now, I've had it a total of two years, The quality isn't where I want it.

My question is, is the 5D MKII a good choice? I shoot mostly portraits and automotive photos, along with rolling photos.

Here are some of my photo examples, The basketball photos were taken with a 6D MKII that I borrowed from my military school. 

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1LsWcXtUNPh7ck3DZbD0sqil1b-72XRoZ?usp=sharing

23 REPLIES 23

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

"I'm still in high school, my mom wants to do some stuff with my car oil changes, etc which i'm a huge car guy."

I think you mom has the right idea.  Do not skimp on your car, or it will let you down when you need it most.  Oil changes are crucial, and inexpensive.  Skipping them leads to engine failure.  Besides, if you heed her advice, she may turn around and help you out with a camera.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

As a retired mechanic & Corvette restorer don't neglect your oil changes nor any safety related maintenance or things can go wrong quickly. As for your question why do you think your current camera is holding you back & what lenses do you have? Many of your car photos look like a good polarizing filter migh be useful re glare & reflections.

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."