cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trying to go from DLSR to Mirrorless

JAAranzullo
Contributor

I am an amateur photography. I do mainly events such as sweet 16s, birthdays, etc and portraits during the holidays. I do not do weddings. I want to purchase a mirrorless to slowly move away from DLSRs. I want full-frame. I was not sure of which mirrorless camera I should purchase. I only do photography and have no interest in videography. In your opinion, and for those will more expertise, what would be my best option moving forward?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

I just want to purchase a new camera and i'm wondering if i should steer away from DLSRs. 

If that is your main most thing the answer is,... yes.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

The R6Mk II seems to be getting a lot of buzz. Generally with your criteria, any would work.

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

"The R6Mk II seems to be getting a lot of buzz."

Yup best choice for you. 😊 If you have a stable of EF lenses make sure you buy a Canon brand adapter for them if you intent to use on the new R6 Mk II.

EB

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

Much depends on your budget, which we do not know.  If you have the funds, I would support my other two respected colleagues' comments that the R6II is the way to go, if you can't afford a new one, have a look at Canon's Refurbished camera site where you may also find R6 bodies - and those are still great cameras.   I enclose a link to compare the R6 and R6II for price and specs - for some reason they didn't fill out the details in the summary for the former, but just click on the image to get all that.

Products Comparison List - Magento B2B Edition (canon.com)

cheers, TREVOR

"The Amount of Misery expands to fill the space available"
"All the variety, all the charm, all the beauty of life is made up of light and shadow", Leo Tolstoy;