cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Thoughts on Upgrade to EOS RP from EOS 5D Mark IV?

lisalynn4
Apprentice

Hello! I’m a very busy portrait photographer (mostly seniors).  I currently shoot with a Canon 5d Mark IV. I really want to try mirrorless, but I’m not ready too drop a ton of money yet.  Can anyone tell me how they feel about the Canon RP? 

9 REPLIES 9

lisalynn4
Apprentice

*to

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

I think you will be disappointed with the RP compared to a 5D4.  If you wish to go mirrorless, then I recommend taking a full step, not a half step.  

“Buy it right the first time, and you will only buy it once.”

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

@Waddizzle wrote:

I think you will be disappointed with the RP compared to a 5D4.  If you wish to go mirrorless, then I recommend taking a full step, not a half step.  

“Buy it right the first time, and you will only buy it once.”

I completely agree with Waddizzle's advice.  The 5D4 is such a nice camera.  The RP is more of a entry level MILC in comparison.  The R was closer in performance, but Canon has continued to improve the EOS R platform. Replacing a 5D4 with an R might be a better option (if budget is a concern) but its truly more inline with a lens mount change than a serious boost in performance.  Yes, its a nice body, but won't necessarily be something that would challenge you as a photographer since you are coming from one of Canon's best performing DSLR's of all time. If it were 3-4 years ago, different story.