cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Stripes, Banding and Purple or Green Blocking on Photos - Happens in Heat

jmquig
Contributor

I'm an amateur photographer and I was using my Canon EOS Rebel T3 at Disney World this past week.  The majority of my photos turned out well, but later in the day around 4 pm I started seeing problems on the pictures. This was visible on the LCD viewfinder, and apparent on the photo downloads as well.

IMG_6202.JPGIMG_6247.JPG

The issues included stripes on the photographs, banding on some pictures, and purple or green color blocking on the pictures.  I am so bummed because all the pictures from this time frame are ruined to various degrees. The third picture in this set of examples only has a minor stripe across the castle at top. After I noticed what was happening, I tried removing the battery, changing the memory card (which was brand new), reformatting the memory card in camera, changing lenses, deleting the settings, switching back and forth from AUTO to MANUAL... nothing helped.  I put the camera back in the bag, and after several hours it was back to normal.

This happened again two days later.  I suspect it has something to do with the Florida heat because it always happened later in the day, and after leaving it alone for a while it stopped.

Can anyone tell me what might be wrong and what steps to take for repair?  Does anyone have any suggestions on ways to salvage these photos?  I have been an amateur still-learning photographer for the past four years, but I have a degree in graphic design and very advanced at Photoshop and editing. I do not have raw files because I was trying to take so many in the day I wanted to "travel light."

IMG_6269.JPG

IMG_6254.JPG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

rs-eos
Elite
Elite