cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Starting lens for an EOS R?

EzraCaleb
Apprentice

Hello everyone, as the title of the post states, I'm looking to get more opinions on the best starter lens for an EOS R. I've been using a T6 for the past 3 years and I'm finally about to buy my first full frame (used). I've messed around with portraits the past few years, mainly using my 50 F1.8, but I've recently gotten into Automotive photography also, and it seems like I'd be doing that more in the future. The 2 main lenses I've been eyeballing are the Sigma 35 F1.4 and the 24-70 F2.8, as both are a good fit for car photos. In a perfect world I'dobviouslyjust buy both, but I'm on a budget for now. I do, plan to keep doing portraiture, but I'd like to get a 85mm for that further down the line when I increase my skill (and my clientele). As far as aperture and bokeh go, I'd love the 35 1.4 for both portraits and cars, but I know the 24-70 would be more robust in terms of flexibility and usability. Both lenses are around $500 on the used market, and I'm kind of torn on which to get to start off with. Would anyone be able to point me in the right direction? Maybe also give any other input on lenses, tips, etc. Thanks!

5 REPLIES 5

rs-eos
Elite
Elite

While you certainly can do portraits with a 35mm, note that on your current crop sensor, such a lens would give you a field of view as a 56mm.  And your current 50 has a field of view as if it was an 80mm.   On a full frame camera, the field of view will be wider; now actually being 35mm and 50mm respectively.

For portraits, non-telephoto lenses will exaggerate features closest to the lens (e.g. nose).   For that reason and others, you typically go for telephoto for portraits.  My personal favorite being 135mm.

Having said that, it sounds like you'd be better off with the 24-70.  That gives you a short telephoto for portraits, gives you a 35mm option, and of course it can go wider.

--