cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Shutter actuations for Canon 1Ds Mk III

moisote
Apprentice

How can I determine the total number of shutter actuations for my 1Ds Mk III ?  Does it really require getting some specialty software ?

34 REPLIES 34

I am looking at buying a refurbished EOS camera, should I be concerned about the number of shutter actuations? What happens if the maximum amount of shutter actuations has been met? Sorry, I am new to all of this.

Thanks in advance.

First do you want a 1 series?  They are big and they are heavy.  Are you sure you want that?  Of course you do! Smiley Happy

They are the finest machines there is.  But I would avoid some 1 series versions.  For instance don't buy a 1D or 1Ds.

Next don't buy a 1D Mk II.  The 1D Mk IIn is a very good buy, however. The 1Ds Mk II is not a bad deal but not a great one either.

But the best buy without a doubt in a 1 series is the 1D Mk III.  The 1Ds Mk III is still pretty pricy as a lot are still working hard in the pro arena.  The 1D Mk IV is the real jewel but still on the high side cost wise.  Lots of peopel want them as they are the last of the 1.3 sensor.

Any part of a Mk III can be replaced.  The shutter is rated at 300,000 clicks but I know of some that have gone over half a million and are still merrily shooting away with no issues.  I think a shutter is around $250 to have Canon replace one.

Look for a decent one and don't worry about the shutter. Buy it, use it and be happy with a great camera for 10 cents on the dollar.  If you do need the shutter replaced you will essentially have a brand new camera ready for another 300,000 clicks give or take a few thousand.

Be warned, once you go 1 series you will never be satisified with any lesser camera.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

Thanks for the reply, ebiggs1.