cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sensor Cleaning Question

shoutinhalls
Contributor

Greetings all!

I am a very new photographer and think I may have gotten something on my sensor. I called a local place that cleans them but they gave me contradicting information:

First he said that the spots in my photos should not change size regardless of the zoom on the lens, then he said that it could change when I was just going to try and clean the lens again.

I am just trying to find out if the spots could be on the sensor and not the lens, even though they change size when zoomed in or out. Want to get that cleared up before spending $50 on something that may not resolve the issue, I already have checked the lens and see nothing wrong on either side.

These are two photos where you can see the difference of the spot in the top right corner

thanks!

wv 2-2016-009.jpgwv 2-2016-003.jpg
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

Zooming by itself won't change the size of a sensor dust spot, but the spot will become more in focus, and thus smaller, as the aperture gets smaller.

Depending on which camera you have you may or may not have auto sensor cleaning. It occurs each time you shut off or restart the camera. You can also force it to occur by actuating the step with the red arrow in the screen capture below.

If you have a Rocket Blower (never use any canned air) you could try manual ccleaning - blue arrow.

You remove the lens, actuate manual cleaning and the mirror goes up and the shutter opens. Give a few puffs from the blower and see if you can dislodge the dust spot.

You can Google many vidoes on how to clean the sensor.

Capture.JPG

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

Dirt and dust particles on the sensor should not change size due to changes in a zoom lens.