cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SD card cannot be read in EOS Rebel T7

PhotoJenic
Apprentice

I have a Canon Rebel T7, a 256mb SD card (full size not micro,) and a Mac.

When I use an adapter and plug the card in it says, “this disk inserted was not readable by this computer.” If I reformat it on my Mac then my camera says that it can’t read the card and I have to format the card on my camera. If I format the card on my camera then my Mac gives the same not readable message. I’ve done so much googling I can’t find an answer!

I’ve tried two different brands of 256mb SD cards. The only card that works on both my camera and Mac is an old 4mb card I’ve had for years.

Is the card size too big? Do new SD cards require a different card reader? (My reader is years and years old. I had been using a Mark II for 14 years and it just died and I’m unable to afford to upgrade.)

It’s been a giant headache as I photograph a service every Sunday and I now have to transfer my photos onto my mom’s PC to a flash drive to get them onto my Mac to edit. She’s only visiting so once she leaves I can’t access my photos. Please help me before I pull my hair out!

20 REPLIES 20

Sorry, I definitely meant 256GB. It was after 1am and I was tired and frustrated. After 14 years my Mark II died so this card issue has thrown me off.

I’m wondering if it’s a card reader issue. The card that works in both my camera and Mac is an old 4GB SDHC and I looked at my card reader (it’s 10+ years old) and it only says SD on it. My new cards are SDXC. I’m thinking maybe it can’t read the new cards. My mom’s PC can and my photos are there so it has to be an issue with the reader or Mac.

My Mac is a few years old. It’s running Mojave version 10.14.6. I tried reformatting the card on it to FAT and something else that had FAT in it but both times the camera says it can’t read the card even though I thought I read that it could do FAT.