cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Recording to external recorder with EOS R

T-Rad
Apprentice
Hey guys,
I’m new to videography and I’m about to shoot my first wedding. I’m shooting with a canon EOS R and Atomos Ninja V external recorder/monitor.
My question is, is there a way to record straight to the Ninja V and bypass the camera’s SD card?
As of now, the only way I know how to do that is to record in Log at 10bit. I’m trying to avoid recording in Log because I’m not familiar with exposing it and I want to be safe. I can record at 1080p to the ninja but it also records to the SD card and I’m not sure what happens when the SD card runs out of space. The SSD I’m using with the ninja is 1TB. Part of the reason why I got the ninja was to not have to worry about running out of space.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

T-Rad
Apprentice
yes! I tested it out today. My thought was that if the card ran out of space while I was recording, the ninja would still be able to record the footage I was shooting. Turns out when the card runs out of space, the ninja stops recording as well. So I either watch how much space is on the card that’s in the camera and swap it out when it’s about to run out, or record strictly to the ninja. I’ll probably end up just swapping cards when it’s about to run out so I have a copy on the card and the ninja. And if I don’t bring enough cards, I can still record straight to the ninja.

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

Generally, you just hook up the HDMI of the R to the Ninja, but I don't know if the R has a "clean" HDMI out.

T-Rad
Apprentice