cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rebel T8 vs EOS 90D- comments, suggestions, pros/cons?

ajubon
Apprentice

I'm thinking about upgrading my equipment. I currently have a Rebel T5. Goals of use are for everyday family photos, travel and occasional "jobs" i.e. senior pictures, family portraits and small weddings. I'm a hobbyist, but have been asked a few times now to take photos for friends for these special occasions. I've researched some and I'm interested in the T8 and the EOS 90D mainly for the higher resolution and larger ISO ranges compared to my T5. I always seem frustrated by the noise I get with my current equipment. I have the following lenses: EFS 10-18mm, EF 28 mm, EFS 18-55mm, EFS 55-250mm, EF 50mm, and a Tamron AF 28-300mm f/3.5-4.3. I'm assuming I can use all of these with a T8, but not sure about the EOS 90D. I'm open to other DSLR suggestions, but would like to keep it under $1000. Not open to mirrorless quite yet. I'm enjoying learning/advancing with a DSLR right now. Thanks!

4 REPLIES 4

stevet1
Whiz
Whiz

ajubon,

I have a T8i and like it very much.

The 90D is a better camera. It has weather sealing, which the T8i doesn't, and a faster burst rate at 11 shots per second, while the T81 only manages 7.5.

The 90D has 32.5 megapixel sensor resolution, while the T8i has 24.

The 90D can also do 30fps in video mode without cropping.

My choice came down to weight. As I get older, weight becomes a factor. The 90D comes in at 701 grams (with a battery), while the T8i comes in at 515 grams (with a battery).

The 90D will cost you a couple of hundred dollars more.

New, the 90D is running about $1,200 (body only). You might be able to pick up a refurbished one for less.

Steve Thomas

March411
Rising Star