cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rebel T2i, Remote Live View with non-stock USB cable

jwday
Contributor

Hi Community,

I'm using a Rebel T2i and trying to get the Live View function to work. Unfortunately, I have lost the USB to Mini-B cable that originally came with the camera, so I went and bought a USB to Mini-B cable from Best Buy. When I plugged the camera into the computer using this cable, the computer detected the camera but the EOS Utility did not (it remained on the screen that says "Connect an EOS camera").

Could the reason for this be the USB cable itself? Do I need to have the original cable that came with my camera? I've never used Live View before, but from what I read online, it should just be a matter of plugging the camera into the computer via USB and running the EOS Utility.

Thank you

7 REPLIES 7

hsbn
Whiz

USB cable is USB cable, it doesn't matter. What version of EOS utility do you use? What is your OS? Instruction here: http://gdlp01.c-wss.com/gds/6/0300007456/03/eu211w3-en.pdf on page 28.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Weekend Travelers Blog | Eastern Sierra Fall Color Guide

@hsbn wrote:

USB cable is USB cable, it doesn't matter. What version of EOS utility do you use? What is your OS? Instruction here: http://gdlp01.c-wss.com/gds/6/0300007456/03/eu211w3-en.pdf on page 28.

Mostly.

I have had some issues with USB cables that do not have a ferrite bead filter (the cylinder on one end of the cable).  And the issues I have with it were within EOS utility.  It kept dropping me.

Unlikely that this is it, but thought I'd share my experience.  Swapping out for another cable fixed the issue immediately.  I've had it happen on more than one un-filtered USB cable.  YMMV.

@Skirball wrote:

@hsbn wrote:

Mostly.