cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

R Series Mirrorless and Flash Photography (AF ASSIST BEAM)

declan565
Apprentice

Im a professional Photographer, I shoot nightclubs and bar-type environments.
I want to upgrade to the canon Mirrorless Cameras but when looking at R3's and R6Mkii I learned that they do not work well with Canon Flashes. 600ex rt ii etc. I found out that the flashes do not fire the red AF Assist Beam (the red light from the front of the flash) To help with focusing.

I shoot in very dark environments and need the Autofocus to be on point and quick in pitch black. Never been an issue with my 5dmk iii or 1dxm ii.

But why do the new cameras not support such a basic feature? Is there plans to address this? I would very much like to upgrade all new cameras and lenses soon but I need my mirrorless and flash system to work. Seems like photographers who need this feature have been forgotten about.

19 REPLIES 19

deebatman316
Authority
Authority

The camera doesn't see the "IR" AF Assist Beam. If you use a Canon speedlite the speedlite should use "Intermittent Flashes"/ pre-fires for AF Assist. Even if the speedlite has a choice between IR and "Intermittent Flashes"/ Pre-fires. All of Canon's speedlites support "Intermittent Flashes"/ pre-fires on the R series bodies. The manual for all of the R series bodies says that the speedlite will fire an Intermittent AF Assist Beam. Meaning "Intermittent Flashes". But this is dependent on ambient lighting. The camera body chooses if the speedlite or the body lamp fires for AF Assist.

Screenshot_20230109-075830.png