cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Photography Teacher on a mini budget Camera Suggestions

goldiestereo
Apprentice

I'd like a camera that is better at keeping everything in focus and a better zoom lens. I'd like to be equipped so that if I wanted to I can shoot portraits and maybe even weddings.

Currently I own:

Canon 40D
50 lens
kit lens (was dropped and doesn't focus well)

Canon Rebel

I want to upgrade to Mirrorless.
Read the recommendations on your site.

Do I need an R10 since I am a teacher so I can better demonstrate things to my students or will an R50 accomplish all my goals? I was also looking at the creator kits.

Can I trade in what I have (except the 50 lens) somewhere that you link to to help me get more bang for my buck? Do you know of any educator discounts?
5 REPLIES 5

rs-eos
Elite

What is your overall budget?

Note though that no lens will allow you to capture everything in focus.  Wider angle lenses, narrower apertures and having the camera further away from your subject will increase the overall depth of field.  You can also explore hyperfocal distances.

In terms of what camera to use for instruction, it could even be the EOS R100.  I think though that it will depend upon what you plan to teach.  If wanting to teach more advanced topics, it may depend upon having different gear.  e.g. if wanting to provide instruction on using mechanical shutters, then you'd need to step up to at least the EOS R10 (the EOS R50 and R100 are electronic shutter only).

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

Hi and welcome to the forum:
1. We cannot give practical advice without a budget value.  The term "mini budget" is not really very helpful and we could spend time looking for things you cannot possibly afford.
2.  As a teacher seeking advice, I would expect you to be quite precise in describing your gear but that is not the case: