cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Nighttime Sports Photography

misscarrieb
Apprentice

I am a newbie and would appreciate some advice.

I have a T3i and I'm trying to take photos at a little league baseball game at nighttime. There are some overhead lights, but it's still fairly dark. I do have to use quite a bit of zoom since I'm not super close to the action. I've just been using the auto setting, but I'm finding that the photos are too dark to really see and they are blurred. I've also tried using the nighttime auto setting, but those photos turn out even worse. What settings should I use if I wanted to try shooting in manual?

Thanks for the advice!

12 REPLIES 12

TTMartin
Authority
Authority

First set your camera to ISO 6400. Then set your camera to Av mode and the widest available aperture (smallest f/number).

If that doesn't give you a fast enough shutter speed so everything isn't blurry. You can shoot in manual mode and RAW and push the photos further in post processing.

For now just try Av mode and ISO 6400.

Shooting sports in poor light is very challenging & to do it well requires lenses with low F numbers (which are expensive). To add to the advice already posted set your AF to AI Servo. That lets the AF track whatever you are following when the shutter button is half pressed.

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

I would not shoot in Av. I would shoot in Tv (shutter priority). This means you set a fast enough shutter to stop motion blur and the camera will automatically open the aperture all the way. Try to find the slowest shutter that is fast enough because you are short on light so it is a tricky thing. See if 1/200th is fast enough to freeze motion. If not try a little faster and a little faster until you get it. 1/400th should do it for sure.