cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need recommendations for beginner camera and lens for bird photography

keenanbare
Apprentice

I'm totally new to photography and want to get a camera that I can use mostly for bird photography and for taking pictures during duck hunting of me, my dad, the birds we harvest, pictures of that sort. I may also dabble in some short video and casual pictures with friends, but would mostly be using the camera for bird photography and taking pictures during hunting.

I just recently purchased the Canon M50 Mark II, but am thinking about returning it. I have recently read some forums that it may not work well with telephoto lenses due to it's small/fragile size and build. Also, it seems that Canon is going away from the EF-M mount and towards the RF mount. I've read some forums that have recommended the R10 and R7, and that's currently what I have my eye on. I want something that I can grow into and with.

My price range is flexible, but would say that the upper limit is $2,000 (camera and lens included). Would be willing to go a bit higher if it's worth it.

58 REPLIES 58

I disagree and think it's best to have both formats use the same mount.

Canon has gone with separate mounts in the past: EF-S lenses that couldn't be fitted to full frame EF mount DSLRs and EF-M lenses that were only usable on M-series mirrorless. At the time, the EF-S mount in particular made some sense, because Canon was virtually the only manufacturer offering both FF and crop-sensor DSLRs. Also, digital was "new". People were just transitioning from film cameras where the 35mm format was so dominant and 135 film was by far the most commonly used.