cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My Rebel T1 EOS can't lock focus

laurac
Contributor

Hi

I have a Rebel T1 EOS that I've been using for about 3 years with no difficulty.  I love it.  I did not become proficient enough to shoot in manual mode,  so 99% of the time I shoot in automatic mode and I've had no problems in any type of lighting. 

Suddenly last week my camera stopped working.  I did not drop it or damage it in any way, it just stopped capturing in AF mode and it says "busy".  I see other posts with this exact same issue so I've been following some of the advice on those posts.  I attempted to shoot in MF mode and it will capture a photo in that mode.  I've also attempted to test it in different lighting and can manage to shoot a rare photo in AF mode if the lighting and contrast is just perfect, however I have never in 3 years of using this camera had to worry about making the lighting perfect.

I'm at the point where I suspect I need to have it serviced, but I know how that goes.  Before you know it I've spent $200 to get it functional again and then it's not likely to last.   I'm debating if I would be better off just buying one of the new camera bundles that have both the 18-55 lens and the zoom lens which I've been wanting, but that frustrates me that a $700 camera is not working after 3 years.  I suspect that things just aren't built to last anymore.  Any thoughts....does this sound like a simple repair or the beginning of the end of this camera?

Thanks

Laura

4 REPLIES 4

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

There are a few things you can do....

P, Tv, Av, or M mode you are allowed to pick which AF point the camera will use to lock focus.  Normally you'd press the AF selection button (on the back located in the upper-right corner) and then use the main control dial (the wheel behind the shutter button) to scroll until the camera highlights the AF point you want to use.