cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

M100 - Focus Problems

Manda1962
Contributor

Hi.  I'm hoping someone can help.

I'm a newbie so apologise if my question seems obvious.

I've been using a 750D for a year without any issue so I have some limited understanding of camera functions.

I recently bought the M100 for use when I don't want to have the big DSLR as it can tuck in my pocket or handbag but I'm struggling badly with the AF function.

I want it on 1-Point-AF and One Shot . I lock focus by depressing the shutter and it will lock on exactly where I've put the focus and turn green, I then depress the shutter completely to take the picture.

When I download the image into Lightroom the focus can be anywhere except where I originally put it which is frustrating me a bit.

Have I missed something in the settings?

Grateful for any help/advice!

TIA

10 REPLIES 10

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

How are you able to use Lightroom to show you the AF points?

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

Hello

Yes, I'm using Lightroom CC, I have a plugin which shows me where the focus has locked and its never where I put it.  

I've found the plugin to be 100% accurate with my Canon 750D

In truth when I vew the images I can see the focus has failed.

Thank you for coming back to me!

@Manda1962 wrote:

Hello

Yes, I'm using Lightroom CC, I have a plugin which shows me where the focus has locked and its never where I put it.  

I've found the plugin to be 100% accurate with my Canon 750D

In truth when I vew the images I can see the focus has failed.

Thank you for coming back to me!

Maybe your LR plug-in is wrong.  I have the M3, not the M100. The M3 has a very different AF system and AF point display compared to DSLRs.  What AF point does Canon DPP show you?  I would doubt the LR plug-in before I would doubt the camera.