cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Inherent flaw with mirrorless cameras?

Finelld
Contributor

I am a retired broadcast studio engineer and have maintained many electronic cameras over my career all the way back to vidicon tubes.  I have a big concern with the mirrorless design because when the camera is in use the sensor is exposed and even when it isn’t the shutter is absorbing all of the light energy from the lens.  Lenses are basically just complex magnifying glasses.  Have you ever seen what the sun will do to leaves or paper through a magnifying glass?  Many of the sensors I have worked with over the years were sensitive to high intensity light and could be permanently damaged by it.  Especially the vidicon tubes but CCDs and others to lesser extents.  I am concerned about sensor damage and to a lesser extent shutter damage on mirrorless cameras when framing a scene with the sun or other high intensity light sources like lasers.  I have heard of several instances of sensors of mirrorless cameras being damaged after shooting concerts or nightclubs with laser shows.

DSLRs don’t have this issue unless you are shooting video or live view.  They direct the light around the shutter and sensor and out the eyepiece.  As such very little energy from the light is absorbed by any internal camera components.  The sensor and shutter would only be exposed during the fraction of a second the mirror is swung out of the way.