cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I am a painter. I took a photo of a painting and noticed that the aspect ratio looked a little off.

jwt99
Enthusiast

The aspect ratio looked slightly wider in the horizontal and shorter in the vertical aspect.  I turned the painting horizontal and took a photo and it looked correct but when I rotated it to upright in digital photo pro it returned to the slightly wider and shorter than reality aspect ratio.  Any help would be appreciated. I am using a EOS 40D camera.

66 REPLIES 66

@jwt99 wrote:

I have been using this camera with the same software for over 5 years without any difficulties.  It seems unlikely that it would suddenly have such a strange error when it has never had an error like this before.  I use RAW files and experiment with changing images and altering sizes and layering in PS without any problems like this one in years.  I have had many difficulties using Photoshop because it is a difficult program to master but DigitalPhotoPro has been user friendly and, while I have had a few problems over the years with batch process, I have never had it change the look of an images proportions.  I have never had a 16X24 inch painting come out with the same aspect ratio as a 16 X20 painting.  Or is it possible that there is a problem with semantics.  I don't especially know for certain that I am using the term aspect ratio properly.  I mean I have never had a 16 X 24 inch painting look like it had the shorter wider proportion of a 16 X 20 inch painting when I took a photo of it.  I have never had the figures in a photo look shorter and wider than they do in a painting.  I will now take some photos of people with measurements and see if the camera is misrepresenting them.  Thanks for all your input.  I really do appreciate being able to get some ideas about what is going on.

IMG_3196.JPG

IMG_3196 distort.JPG

Same photo, the difference:

lock aspect ratio.JPG