cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I am a painter. I took a photo of a painting and noticed that the aspect ratio looked a little off.

jwt99
Enthusiast

The aspect ratio looked slightly wider in the horizontal and shorter in the vertical aspect.  I turned the painting horizontal and took a photo and it looked correct but when I rotated it to upright in digital photo pro it returned to the slightly wider and shorter than reality aspect ratio.  Any help would be appreciated. I am using a EOS 40D camera.

66 REPLIES 66

In digital photo pro you set the pixels and the shows stipulate that they want 300/inch for copying purposes.  The problem is that the camera is now giving me images of 20X 16 paintings and 24 X 16 paintings of people that have the same ratio apparrently and the 16 X 20 and 16 X 24 both are looking like the people are much shorter and wider than the original paintings portray them.

My tall thin wife looks short and wide in the image the camera is taking of her 16 X 24 painting.  That is a serious issue.

@jwt99 wrote:

In digital photo pro you set the pixels and the shows stipulate that they want 300/inch for copying purposes.  The problem is that the camera is now giving me images of 20X 16 paintings and 24 X 16 paintings of people that have the same ratio apparrently and the 16 X 20 and 16 X 24 both are looking like the people are much shorter and wider than the original paintings portray them.

You only have 3888 x 2592 pixels. Any thing you set higher in DPP it is just interpolating to make it larger. It's not really giving it more resolution.