cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to keep background in focus when shooting indoor basketball on a t5i 18-135mm

PCarroll
Contributor

I am new to this and so far I love my camera. However shooting these games is sometimes difficult.  How do I keep the background from being out of focus. Sometimes using the auto focus it catches someone's arm that closer than the intended subject and I miss the shot. How do I avoid that. Your help is appreciated.  Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Skirball
Authority

When you look through the viewfinder you'll see 9 boxes arranged in a pattern.  These are the AF points.  When using all points the camera checks all points and sees if there is something it can focus on at that point.  It then decides what the subject is and focus on it.  Sometimes it will jump back and forth between something in the foreground and background.  But since the subject is typically in the foreground the camera is typically going to choose that over background noise.  In your case, something is coming into the foreground and the camera is choosing that as the focus point since it's the closest.  Best way to eliminate is to be cognizant of all AF points when shooting.  If things are too dynamic to keep all 9 points free of non-subjects, then move to a single AF point:

If you want precise choice of the focus point then change it to only read the center point.  There should be a button on the upper right that allow this.  If you half press the shutter the camera will focus on whatever is at the center point.  You can then recompose (if you want) and take the photo.

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11

Skirball
Authority