cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help! Unsure which EOS rebel to purchase

LB1990
Apprentice
Hi all!
I have been looking and looking and still am a little unsure of the camera that would best fit my wants and budget.. I am a beginner, will be using the camera mostly outside (pictures of my boyfriend surfing, my horses, dog (moving and still), skies and landscapes. Budget is tight, about $500.
Recommendations, Suggestions, please and thank you!!!
9 REPLIES 9

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

$500 is too low, but here is a reasonable beginner set for $600.

Canon refurbs come with a 1 year warranty, just like a new camera.

http://shop.usa.canon.com/shop/en/catalog/eos-rebel-t5-ef-s-18-55-is-ii-lens-kit-refurbished-with-ef...

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

"Budget is tight, about $500."

Yes that is a little tight.  Smiley Sad  Save a bit longer or try the Canon referb store as per suggestion above.  But the Rebel to get is the Canon EOS Rebel T6i DSLR Camera with 18-135mm Lens.  It will stay with you for a long, long time.  This Rebel has all the current featuers of any Rebel. 

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

I'll echo ebiggs on the T6i.  It is not just the most current Rebel, it is also the first major model-to-model improvement in Rebels since the T2i replaced the T1i.  Autofocus in particular is vastly improved vs the T5i. 

Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites

Why do so many people say "FER-tographer"? Do they take "fertographs"?

LB1990
Apprentice
What are your opinions on the rebel SL1?

http://www.the-digital-picture.com/Reviews/Canon-EOS-Rebel-SL1.aspx

John Hoffman
Conway, NH