cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Planning to upgrade my 70D

idanidan123
Enthusiast

I've been using the 70D for almost 2 years, and I've noticed that because of my pretty big hands, the body feels small and so I wanna upgrade to a bigger one, something like the 5D M3 but a lot cheaper. It could either be FF or crop, as long as it's bigger and the IQ is similar. Photography is a huge hobby of mine, I'd say I'm pretty advanced but not pro yet. One more thing- I prefer suggestions for bodies under $500. Thanks in advance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@idanidan123 wrote:
And what about the 7D and 7D Mark 2?

If I wanted to dip into the 1D series, the only older bodies I would consider purchasing are the 1Ds Mk III and the 1D Mk IV.  Given a choice between those two bodies, I would go for the 1D Mk IV, despite the higher resolution of a 1Ds Mk III.  

CD57BA11-758F-4187-A172-D3241162BF5A.jpeg

The 1D4 has a higher frame rate, and a much wider ISO range.  The 1D Series has good in-camera image capturing, due to the multiple CPUs in the camera bodies.  This was shot with a 1D4 and a EF 35mm f/2 IS USM.

——————————————————-

I would pass on the 7D, not unless you needed to replace your current body if it stopped working.  The 7D2 is an excellent body, which excels at fast action photography.  It is definitely an improvement over the 70D.  The 80D is also an improvement over the 70D, and it just may be a bigger improvement in IQ than a 7D2.  

When you want to “upgrade” your camera body, just make sure that it is technological leap forward.  A better lens with your current body will do more to improve your shots and image quality than a new body with your current lenses.  This is true of nearly any camera body, not just your 70D.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11

MikeSowsun
Authority
Authority