cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Focus/Blur issues - EOS M50 M2

LFrazita
Apprentice

I have an EOS M50 Mark 2, and have only been working with it for about a month, but I've been trying to study and understand all the bells and whistles. It's definitely been a learning curve as I'm not a photographer by trade.

My issue is that no matter how I set the aperture or ISO, or if I turn the dial to Av or Tv, i get the same issue: a blurry foreground/background and sharp middle.

For example, if I'm taking a picture of a pen, the points furthest away from me and/or nearest to the lens, will be blurry while only the "focus point" (whatever is within the green, blue, or white = boxes) is in good focus. I've tried watching videos, tried reading forum posts (though none seem to have my exact issue) but nothing is helping me understand what the issue is or what settings I need in order to fix it. I tried the Aperture-Priority AE Mode (Av) manual instructions but the changes did absolutely nothing. Distant/near elements are still coming out blurred.

I'd like to be able to have entire pictures sharp. No blurriness, not even in the background or foreground. Most of the pictures I take are close-up product shots, so I need absolute clarity on every point no matter how far or close it is to the camera.

Would anyone be able to give me a detailed (as in, pretend you are talking to a 4 year old) explanation of what I should do? It would be much appreciated!

6 REPLIES 6

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

What is blurry - between foreground and background is defined by Depth of Field.  That is influenced by three things:

The closer the subject the shallower the DoF
The longer the lens focal length the shallower the DoF
The smaller the f/stop value, the shallower the DoF.