cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Flash issues

Ashleylynn
Apprentice
I'm new to photography, been at it for about a year now. I have a canon t5i. Recently my flash hasn't been working like it used to, I feel like the flash will fire before the photo and it will leave my photos super dark. I've tried resetting the camera to factory settings and nothing is fixing this. Could my bulb be broken? Please help me!
9 REPLIES 9

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

If you use ETTL, the flash *does* fire before the photo to set the flash exposure, but there should still be plenty of power available for the flash during the exposure.

Have you tried it in "green square" mode?

It does sound like a problem with the camera. I would call Canon.

Ashleylynn
Apprentice
It works sometimes and sometimes not. I shoot on continuous shooting and maybe 1 out of 5 photos will have the flash working correctly. I'm out of warranty, is there a chance they could still help me?

If you need a lot of flash power during continuous shooting, you could very well not be allowing enough time for the flash to recharge between shots.

If you call Canon, they will walk you through some stuff and determine whether it is broken or not, then you can decide whether it is worth the cost of repair.

Two correct answers above.

The flash will do focus assist flashing if it is a little dim where you are shooting. That might seem like it is flashing early. 

The. On continuous shooting the flash will fall behind pretty quickly and then will only flash when it's had time to recharge. That will result in some photos with the flash firing mixed in with a lot where it did not.