cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First visit here, trying to load a ds6041 into new computer with Windows8.

joein10asee
Contributor

Newbie here. Hope I'm asking this on the right place.

I've been trying to get my DS6041 to work in Win8, not having any luck. I have tried downloading the disc for both 10d and a 300d with no results. When I open the zoombrowser and try to connect the camera I get popup that says "Camera not found"

This EOS has worked fine with WinXP since I got it (way back when) . Is there a new driver I have to upload or something?

By the way... the label on my camera says DS6041 , DC8.1V, No. 1760515654... is this a 10D or a 300D?

Thanks, Joe

17 REPLIES 17

hsbn
Whiz

I got the 300D but first time heard of DS6041. Anway, a quick google search show it's a 300D (original Rebel). But there is a huge different between the 10D and the 300D, search google for photo and you can tell for sure.

Anyway, are you using Win8 x64 bit? there is no driver for older camera for 64bit version of windows; But you still can transfer the images to your PC by changing the Communication mode to PTP and you can access your camera to download photo like a mass-storage-device. However, you still will not be able to use the EOS Utility.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Weekend Travelers Blog | Eastern Sierra Fall Color Guide

I just got a new dell desktop and it has Windows 8.. Is that the same as Win7 - 64bit? I've searched the images till I'm cross-eyed :-). The 300d seems to have a logo in the bottom corner on the front that says 300d, mine only says  Digital rebel. Which makes me think I have the 10d?

Edit to add.. how do I change the Communication mode to PTP? Is that in the camera or my PC?