cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Embarrassing newbie question about overexposed pics ...

Thorsburg
Apprentice

I've had my Rebel EOS T2i for almost five years now ... but suddenly it's shooting extremely overexposed photographs even in full automatic mode.

As a largely self-taught amateur, I have no idea if I've bumped something onto the wrong setting, if something is dirty or needs adjusting or if the camera needs repair.  Can anyone help me trouble shoot?

The animal photos I took/tried to take yesterday if that's helpful ... the middle party pic I tried to take December 10 ...

~ LisaIMG_9000.JPGIMG_8870.JPGIMG_9143.JPG

13 REPLIES 13

ScottyP
Authority

Try going into MENU and use the reset all settings to default option. 

It it looks like you have a super long shutter speed because not only is everything bright, there is motion blur. I would guess you have dialed in about 2 stops of + exposure compensation accidentally. 

Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites

Why do so many people say "FER-tographer"? Do they take "fertographs"?

I was shooting on an automatic setting - the sports mode.

It won't let me change anything in that mode .....  😞

Try shooting in RAW+JPEG and see if there's a difference between the two formats. If there is, and the RAW looks better for exposure, then the image processor might be bad. If they're both the same, then the image sensor could be the problem.

Steve M..

But you could still have Exposure Compensation dialed up, right?  I don't use the auto modes so not sure. 

Scott