cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS Rebel T6 settings for indoor sports

Damundo
Apprentice

I just purchased a canon rebel T6. It has the standard lens and also the 75-300 mm lens. I am fairly new to the photography world, and I am trying to understand the settings and modes this camera has. My daughter has gymnastics meets and they are all indoors at various arenas. The lighting varies also. We would like to get some close-up shots during the event that she is on. We are never able to be on the floor, just around the arena. I have read a little bit on some other forums that recommend Aperture of 2.8. The lowest this camera will go is f4. Any help on these settings would be very helpful. Thank you 

11 REPLIES 11

stevet1
Whiz
Whiz

Damundo,

The aperture size is a function of the lens, not of the camera.

I have read that lenses do not operate at their best when used at their lowest or widest apertures, and most photographers recommend narrowing or "stopping down" their lenses a stop or two from their widest setting.

In your case, with your lenses, you might want to aim for an aperture of f/5.6.

An aperture of f/2.8 will let in more light than an aperture of f/5.6, and that's why you would see recommendations for using a wider aperture like f/2.8, but with your lenses, you don't have that option.

a 50mm f/1,8 prime lens works really well at f/2.8, and they are relatively inexpensive, but that might not give you the reach you are looking for since you can't "get on the floor" as you put it.

With variable aperture telescopic lenses like your 75-300, the widest apertures, like f/4, are available to you at their shortest telescopic range. As you zoom in, the widest apartures available to you narrow down, to ff/5.6..

Steve Thomas.

Thanks for the feedback. I will look into the 50mm lens option. 

Damundo,