cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS-RP Transferring pictures to computer

kelidc
Apprentice

Hello, I have the EOS RP Mirrorless camera, for the past several years I have used the EOS 60D. When I take pictures with the RP and try to transfer the pics from the SD card to my computer they are not showing up. It's like they aren't even on the card. When I put the card back in the camera then they show up. Now, I can take that same card, put it in my old camera, and snap a few pics, then insert the card back into my computer those pictures that were taken with the old camera show up on the computer to download. Keep in mind I am no professional, just a grandma wanting pics of her grandkids. But is there a setting I have missed? I have gone through the manual and I've either overlooked it or it's not there. Please help! 

12 REPLIES 12

AtticusLake
Mentor
Mentor

That the pictures show up in the camera means that they are actually on the card.  So presumably your computer can't recognise them.

The simplest reason I can think of is that they are in raw format (like with a file suffix like ".CR3").  Your computer would need software to handle this format, like Adobe Lightroom.

So, is your camera configured to capture RAW files?  Try setting it to take JPEG instead of (or as well as) RAW.

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

You should definitely be able to see the files, even if your computer is not able to open them.  

It is inadvisable to move a memory card back and forth between one camera and another, especially when they are different camera models.  You will lose files and photos one day.  This could be the issue that you are experiencing.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

You're right that the files "should" be visible, but they might be light gray and not obvious if the computer doesnt have an action for them, and hence easily missed.