cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS R8 Questions on low-light performance, battery life, lens compatibility

taddy
Apprentice

I've been using my Canon 6D for a few years and I love it but I'm thinking of making the jump to a mirrorless system. I'm looking at the R8 as it's within my budget and I'm unsure if I want to swap my setup to Sony.

I mostly shoot landscapes and wide-astrophotography so low light performance is essential. The 6D is already exceptional in low light but how much better is the R8?

How do the batteries perform when shooting astro? I know to expect less compared to my 6D - usually I get around 500 long exposures per battery and would like to get more than half of that

Is there any issues using 3rd party lenses with the adapters on canons full frame mirrorless systems?

It's a fair bit of money, so I'm just unsure if it is worth making the move to mirrorless or to just stick with what I already have.

Thanks

2 REPLIES 2

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

I would not recommend it moving from a 6D to an R8.  I really do not know what Canon engineers were thinking with R8 design.  It is a far cry from being a MILC equivalent to a 6D.  

The R8 has the rear panel of a Rebel DSLR.  It does not use the same battery as the 6D.  It uses the same battery found in the most recent Rebel DSLRs.  You would need to invest in a new battery arsenal.

The R8 is more equivalent to a Rebel DSLR with a full frame sensor than it is to the 6D.  Look for an R6 series body.  It costs a bit more.  But you will be jumping for joy with one.  Guaranteed!

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

The closest equivalent to the 6D series is the excellent (IMHO) EOS R6 series (original and MkII) - the similarities of the number are significant. Both are generations ahead of the original 6D, which seems to be what you have.