cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS R7 not focusing or taking pictures

Eyekneemuhni617
Apprentice

Im new to this and I too have just recently ran into this issue but it only happens in Av mode I'm trying to capture things with the blurred background I did change something but not sure what, I know the camera is not broke as it captures photos without the "busy" and pausing in auto mode! So I know the camera isn't broke or my lense isn't broke. I was going to factory reset it but I know some settings I changed for manual that I like and had to watch a tutorial on that l I'd rather not go through it again but will if I have to. But hopefully someone has an answer for me here before I have to do that. I'm shooting with R7 with a 18 to155mm lense.

6 REPLIES 6

rs-eos
Elite
Elite

Do all apertures fail when in Av mode?  Try setting the lens to the widest aperture and see if you can take a photo.  Perhaps the lens isn't allowing for closed-down apertures.

Otherwise, would be best to perform a reset if you're not sure what settings you may have changed.

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

All Canon EOS cameras focus wide open. Doesn't matter if it's an SLR, DSLR or mirrorless camera. I would reset the camera to factory default. Then reset all of the Custom Functions back to factory default.

-Demetrius

Current Gear: EOS 5D Mark IV, EF 16-35mm F/2.8L III USM, EF 24-70mm F/2.8L II USM, EF 50 F/1.8 STM, EF 85mm F/1.8 USM, EF 70-200mm F/2.8L IS III USM, 430EX III-RT, 470EX-AI & 600EX II-RT

Retired Gear: EOS 40D, Sigma 17-50mm F/2.8 EX DC OS HSM & EF 28-135mm F/3.5-5.6 IS USM

-Demetrius

Current Gear: EOS 5D Mark IV, EF F/2.8 Trinity, EF 50mm F/1.8 STM, EF 85mm F/1.8 USM, 470EX-AI & 600EX II-RT

Retired Gear: EOS 40D