cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS R6 CLOG removed color of my video (Complete newbie)

AtomicWingsKing
Apprentice

Screenshot_2023-02-25-16-01-28-54_e5d3893ac03954c6bb675ef2555b879b.jpg

I have a EOS R6 (not the mark ii, its the old one), iMac on MacOS Ventura quad core cpu (I know that's not enough) and a powerful phone that easily handles 4k processing footage of any length. I have recorded some videos in CLOG. My problem is the color is removed completely without trace of color, it's just a yellowish tint that is very subtle but it's mostly black and white on all my clog videos. Now, how do I fix this on the iMac and restore the color? I originally recorded in 4k but i had to downgrade the footage to 1080 because the computer was crashing too often. I know this should be something basic but I'm completely new. I'm not a professional person either with a camera, i just upload on social media to gain followers. Ive used QuickTime player to reduce my quality and iMovie for video editing. I think I've provided a good amount of info to get me help but let me know if you need more information.

• EDIT: I've now took upon to add a screenshot of my video. This photo is the thumbnail and this discoloration plays through the entire video. What are these discoloration splotches and how do I fix it? It is causing the footage to be partially the yellowish color along with the grey and black. 
5 REPLIES 5

rs-eos
Elite
Elite

Whenever you record with log (CLog2, CLog3, etc.), you'll end up with a very flattened looking video.  This is normal.

Recording in log helps capture the highest amount of dynamic range possible.  But the tradeoff is that you'll need to perform post-processing.

In looking at the User Manual, I don't believe that when having the EOS R6 record in log, there's any way to apply a LUT (color Look Up Table) in camera.  Thus, you'll need to apply a LUT in post-production.  See page 305.