cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS R white balance issue

Rick7S
Contributor
I own a 5D and a 5D mark II, for several years i have used a lastolite gray target with a white side on reverse, ima studio shooter so lighint is pretty much a controlled environment, i bought the EOS R and since i started shooting with this camera for some reason the white balance is all over the place, i shoot the gray and the white targets and when i go to lightroom and use the dropper on the targets images come put super yellow and redtones on the skin look weird, im not knew at this process as im a photographer for 10 years now, could something be wrong with the camera? I performe the shots ln gray target with 5d and immediately with the eos r and its totally wrong the white balance, am i doing sonething wrong with this new system?
18 REPLIES 18

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

I don't have a EOS R but I suspect Raw works the same as it does for any camera. Shoot only Raw format and set WB in LR/PS in post.  You can put it wherever you like it.

All cameras are slightly different.  You are seeing a jpg representation of the Raw conversion if you are already shooting Raw.   It is no problem to correct.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

Here is the set of photo with the gray target, seems to be balanced with lightroom eye dropper on the target

4U4A9504.jpg

as soon as i copy the adjustments and paste it on a subject looks like this

4U4A9505.jpg

The image should look something like this

4U4A9505-2.jpg

Some other people have had the same issue and reported a bug on the adobe camera raw like boosting the kelvins way over were it should be, even had to install an earlier camera raw

Do you get the same result if you do a "click-on" white balance on a white surface as opposed to grey ?

Have you tried Canon's DPP software, if that gets it right then you know it's an Adobe camera raw problem.

EDIT ...