cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS 90D autofocus keeps switching from AI to M

Birder_Girl4
Contributor

I've been using the EOS 90D for three years with no issues.  I use AI focusing mode as it best meets my needs for bird and wildlife photography.  Recently the focus mode has begun jumping from AI to M with just the slightest move of the camera.  I set it to AI and as soon as I press the shutter it jumps back to M. This has been happening with every lens I've tried and with various exposure settings.  The battery is new and fully charged, and all camera and lens settings are at AF.  Any idea what is causing this?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Thank you for your suggestions.  I contacted a local repair shop, if they can't repair the 90D they will ship it to Canon for me.  

View solution in original post

17 REPLIES 17

Birder_Girl4
Contributor

I originally posted about a problem with my 90D switching from AI focusing to M focusing.  Here is more information to clarify the problem.  I am a bird and wildlife photographer and use AI Servo for my photography.  Recently the focusing mode has begun switching to MF manual mode despite the fact that my camera and lenses are set to AF auto focus.  This happens regardless of which focusing mode (AI Servo, AI Focus, or One Shot) I try.  It also happens with each shooting mode I try.  This morning when I tried to shoot in AI Servo it immediately defaulted to MF manual focus.  I am now unable to get it out of MF, it appears to be stuck in that mode.  I did try to manually focus an image but when I pressed the shutter nothing happened. The problem began over a month ago but has gotten increasingly worse making it nearly impossible to use the camera.  I have no idea why this is happening and any help would be greatly appreciated  Is it time to ship the camera off to Canon for repairs? 

Thanks for any advice you can give.

_Birder_Girl4

deebatman316
Elite
Elite