cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS 5D Mark IV New Lens for Landscape / Travel

MichaVandiver88
Contributor

Hi, so I have been a music / entertainment photographer then a wedding and family photog but now I’m living  at my eco lodge in Costa Rica and I’m back to what I had originally wanted to do many many moons ago, nature and wildlife photography. I have my close up lens for nature but I’m looking for a landscape lens. If money wasn’t an option within reason  (can’t believe I’m finally that grown up) which lens of choice would you choose for the scenery in Costa Rica? Or any vast beautiful and lush country side? 😆 

I own an art gallery now with other artists as I also became a metalsmith during Covid but would love to capture the area of where I live and also sell my prints in my studio.

If it was one wide lens for landscape which lens would buy and why? For my 5D Mark iv 

Thanks! 

13 REPLIES 13

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

What camera?

Way too early to post without my coffee. My apologies. 5dMark iv I updated my post. Thanks for pointing that out. 

rs-eos
Elite
Elite

Don't have any experience with wide angle (shortest focal length I use is a 50mm), but wondering if panoramas may be worthwhile in creating?  It does take a steady tripod and preferably gear that would allow you to work with the nodal point of your camera/lens combos.

I've created panoramas now with both my 50mm f/1.2 and 135mm f/2 (9 images total then merged in Photoshop).  This leads to around 110 megapixel images with a 5D IV.  You'd have the option of very large prints, or lots of opportunities to crop in.

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

Oh I like that idea too! I have that 50mm, which is one of my favorites. I was looking at buying the 135mm as I used to have one and it was stolen. I replaced it with an 85mm, which is beautiful but tricky in low light. I will try your idea though. ☺️