cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Crop or full frame for livestreaming and how to convert a crop lens to get full frame equivalent?

jenwlee
Contributor

I had a Rebel T7 and used it as my camera for live streaming using the EOS Web utility. The software is flaky. Sometimes it stops connecting and recently the camera keeps shutting itself off and turns it back on. Not a good livestream experience. I was interested in 5D Mark IV instead.

I'm a complete newbie and know that my rebel is a crop camera and the Mark is a full frame. That's my knowledge.

Is there real difference in using a crop versus full frame camera for livestream where I am either presenting slides, interviewing a person or showing my screen?

And what is the full frame equivalent lens to the lens I had for my Rebel T7 - EFS 18-55mm f 1:35-5.6?

Thank you,

Completely lost, just want a camera to use for live streaming

11 REPLIES 11

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

Before you purchase a camera like the 5DIV, I suggest you step back a bit and reconsider.

You have indicated that your purpose is to use the camera for web streaming, but no other indications of different uses.   Can you please explain specifically, the benefits that this camera will offer you?

cheers, TREVOR

"All the variety, all the charm, all the beauty of life is made up of light and shadow", Leo Tolstoy;
"Skill in photography is acquired by practice and not by purchase" Percy W. Harris

That's a question I am asking...

"Is there real difference in using a crop versus full frame camera for livestream where I am either presenting slides, interviewing a person or showing my screen?"

I don't know left and right from DSLR cameras. I just happen to pick the 5D Mark IV because I can use Elagato Cam Link with it and ecamm Live. Are you saying a crop camera will suffice?